The Legend of Korra

Rating: 4 out of 5.
  • The Legend of Korra
  • TLOK
  • Avatar: The Legend of Korra

The Legend of Korra Anime

The Legend of Korra takes place in the fictional world of Avatar: The Last Airbender, 70 years after the events of the series. The people of the world belong to four nations: the Water Tribes, the Earth Kingdom, the Fire Nation, and the Air Nomads.

A distinctive element of the series is “bending”, the ability of some people to telekinetically manipulate the classical element associated with their nation (water, earth, fire, or air).

Bending is done with spiritual and physical exercises portrayed as Chinese martial arts. As a result of the genocide in the backstory of the series, there is only one living family of airbenders at the time of the series.

Only one person, “Avatar”, can bend all four elements. Cyclically reincarnating among the four peoples of the world, the Avatar maintains peace and balance in the world. The legend of Korra focuses on Avatar Korra, a seventeen-year-old girl from the Southern Water Tribe and successor to Avatar Aang from The Last Airbender.

Anime  The Devil Is a Part Timer !

Season 1 primarily takes place in Republic City, the capital of the United Republic of Nations, the new multicultural sovereign state founded by Avatar Aang after The Last Airbender ended.

The show’s creators describe the 1920s-inspired metropolis as “if Manhattan happened in Asia,” and its residents are united by their passion for “pro-bending,” a spectator sport in which two teams consist of an earthbender, a waterbender. , and the firebender throw each other out of the ring using the bending technique.

Rapid technological growth has supplanted the spirituality of the bend, and what was considered a famous martial art in Avatar: The Last Airbender is now commonplace, with mages in Republic City using their abilities to commit crimes, compete in spectator sports, and perform daily tasks. .

The second season adds the south polar region, home of the Southern Water Tribe, as the main setting in addition to Republic City, while the third and fourth seasons take place primarily in the Earth Kingdom.

Anime  Noblesse Anime

Book One (Air)

In the first season, Book One: Air, Korra moves to Republic City to learn airbending from Tenzin, the son of Avatar Aang. Along with brothers Bolin and Mako, she joins the bending team and befriends Asami Sato, heiress to a leading engineering corporation.

The ambitious politician Tarrlok recruits Korra to fight against the “Equalizers” uprising against magic, led by the masked Amon, who is stripping mages of their powers. Korra and her friends, with the help of police chief Lin Beifong, unmask Amon as a waterbender himself and Tarrlok’s brother, ending the Equalists’ coup.

Book Two (Spirits)

In Season 2, Book Two: Spirits, Korra’s uncle Unalaq, chief of the Northern Water Tribe, takes over the southern tribe. As Korra’s friends seek support against Unalaq, Korra learns of the first Avatar, Van, who merged his soul with the spirit of light, Raava, to imprison Vaatu, the spirit of darkness.

Unalaq frees Vaatu during the Harmonic Convergence, a ten thousand year planetary alignment, and unites with him to become the Dark Avatar. After defeating Unalaq, Korra decides to leave the portals between the material world and the spirit world open, allowing for a new coexistence of spirits and humans.

Anime  Attack on Titan

Book Three (Change)

The third season, Book Three: Change, begins with non-mages beginning to develop airbending abilities as a result of the Harmonic Convergence, and Tenzin, Korra, and her friends attempt to recruit them to restore the extinct Air Nomads. One of the new airbenders is Zaheer, leader of the anarchist Red Lotus Society.

The Red Lotus kills the Earth Queen, throwing her kingdom into chaos, and captures Korra to try and kill her and end the Avatar cycle. They are defeated by Korra’s friends and the new airbenders, but Korra is severely injured and psychologically traumatized.

Book Four (Balance)

The final season, Book Four: Balance, takes place three years later. Korra is slowly recovering from her mental and physical trauma. The metal magic Kuvira, tasked with reuniting the fractured Earth Kingdom, declares himself the head of a new authoritarian “Earth Empire”. Kuvira creates a spirit-powered superweapon and attempts to take over Republic City.

As Korra and her friends destroy the weapons, defeating Kuvira, the explosion creates another portal to the spirit world. The series ends with the prospect of democracy for the former Earth Kingdom, as Korra and Asami go on vacation together to the spirit world.

The Legend of Korra Episodes

Book One – Air

Sl NoEpisode Title
1Welcome to Republic City
2A Leaf in the Wind
3The Revelation
4The Voice in the Night
5The Spirit of Competition
6And the Winner Is…
7The Aftermath
8When Extremes Meet
9Out of the Past
10Turning the Tides
11Skeletons in the Closet
Book One – Air

Book Two – Spirits

Sl NoEpisode Title
1Rebel Spirit
2The Southern Lights
3Civil Wars, Part 1
4Civil Wars, Part 2
6The Sting
7Beginnings, Part 1
8Beginnings, Part 2
9The Guide
10A New Spiritual Age
11Night of a Thousand Stars
12Harmonic Convergence
13Darkness Falls
14Light in the Dark
Book Two – Spirits

Book Three – Change

Sl NoEpisode Title
1A Breath of Fresh Air
3The Earth Queen
4In Harm’s Way
5The Metal Clan
6Old Wounds
7Original Airbenders
8The Terror Within
9The Stakeout
10Long Live the Queen
11The Ultimatum
12Enter the Void
13Venom of the Red Lotus
Book Three – Change

Book Four – Balance

Sl NoEpisode Title
1After All These Years
2Korra Alone
3The Coronation
4The Calling
5Enemy at the Gates
6The Battle of Zaofu
9Beyond the Wilds
10Operation Beifong
11Kuvira’s Gambit
12Day of the Colossus
13The Last Stand
Book Four – Balance